A change is as good as a holiday. Not.

October 10, 2011 — Leave a comment

After extensive research, I can reveal that the only thing as good as a holiday is, in fact, a holiday. And the only thing better than a holiday is two of them.

11 days on a 65ft boat with 8 mates chasing waves around the Mentawis is a standard-issue Northern beaches fantasy holiday that, on this occasion, lived up to the hype. If you’ve ever dreamed of going, GO. And if you do go, I thoroughly recommend this boat. This shot is of a lefthander called Green Bush that, thankfully, decided not to kill me.

 

3 weeks in New York with the family, however, did almost kill me. Mainly due to overconsumption of ribs. And slice. And burgers. And Crif Dogs. And Argentinian BBQ. And bagels & lox. And pretty much everything, except decent coffee. We saw everything and ate everything and still barely scratched the surface. If you’ve ever dreamed of going, GO. And if you do go, I thoroughly recommend this site for accommodation. This shot is of a rib & brisket platter at  Fette Sau that, thankfully, decided not to kill me.

Taking almost 6 weeks out of the workplace is a rare luxury and I have to acknowledge my colleagues at Ogilvy and elsewhere who picked up the slack while I was gone. Admittedly, I didn’t spend a whole lot of time thinking about work while I was away, but I have come back with a new list of projects and priorities and, hopefully, a more relaxed attititude to, well, stuff.

I also came back to the opportunity to run a w2fm workshop with a lovely crew of people from St George Bank and I was reminded of the fact that I’m pretty fortunate to do the things I do and still call it work.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

